TalkRadio WRNR » Blog Archive » Names submitted to Governor Tomblin
WRNR Details
WRNR Extras

Names submitted to Governor Tomblin

January 18th, 2013

The 15th District Senate Democratic Executive Committee selected three names to be submitted to Governor Earl Ray Tomblin to replace Walt Helmick, who resigned from the West Virginia Senate to become West Virginia's agriculture commissioner.

The 18 member panel gave 15 votes to Judge Don Cookman of Hampshire County; 12 votes to Mike Ross of Upshur County; and nine votes to Tom Hawse of Hardy County.

Each delegate could vote for up to three names.

Other candidates receiving votes were Lisa Amorosa of Hardy County with seven votes, and Margaret Beckwith, who received two votes.  Charles Sheets received no votes.